of Yaps and Cheng

loving living

DIY: Homemade Playdough/ Playdoh (Non-cook Version)

2 Comments

I promised to share Eve’s playdough recipe, and it’s long overdue due to procrastination from moi. Here is it from the awesome mama herself:

***********************************************  ***********************************************

My recipe is:

1 cup flour
1/2 cup salt
1 cup hot water (this replaces the stovetop cooking)
2 tbsp oil
1 tbsp cream of tartar
food colouring
The process is the same: mix and then add food colouring to desired intensity. If it’s too sticky, add a bit more flour. The ‘control’ specimen in my fridge is still going strong after almost 3 weeks but that’s because it hasn’t been played with and thus the bacterial contamination is minimal. Otherwise, the playdough keeps for about a week – when it feels slimy, I throw it away. I think the non-cooking version is a lot less messy than the stovetop version – just wash one big mixing bowl and that’s it! It took me less than 10 minutes to complete my batch of playdough.
***********************************************  ***********************************************
I’m gonna try it. Qiyun, let me know if you try it too ok?
My cooked play dough is 1-month-old and still going strong. No mould yet!

Snow snow where are you? Bring me my snowman friends.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Homemade Playdough/ Playdoh (Non-cook Version)

  1. What a great little recipe..I made my kids homemade playdough but never put oil in..this is a great idea..ELiza Keating

Leave a Reply

