of Yaps and Cheng

loving living

How long? 2 years 7 months, already?

2 Comments

Most mums I know always have the answer at the tip of their tongues. “Oh, he’s 28 months now” or “She’s 19 months coming to 20 already!”. Excellent, mummies.

A colleague told me once that when you become a mum (or mum-to-be), you will naturally start counting kids’ age in weeks and months. Not me leh. I’m still very lost when telling you how old Jingheng is now in months, especially when he passed the 1 year mark.

Now, I know it’s perfectly fine to state it in Year + Months format, but heck, I even have problems with that. I simply cannot remember “how long” stuff. (The hubby will attest. He is always springing me sudden impromptu quiz of important dates, e.g. “How long have we been married?”. Er, I gotta count leh. Then he gives me the evil I-caught-you grin. Stop testing me lah!). So I pretty much gave up and been telling everyone since start of the year, that he’s 2.5 years.

Now thanks to cousin Edlyn (check out her blog ;, she’s an excellent writer), I found Lilypie (look right to the sidebar), and it tells me instantly – JINGHENG IS 2 YEARS, 7 MONTHS, 1 WEEK AND 6 DAYS OLD. Wohoo!

So, pardon me if I whipped out my iPhone to check my son’s age for you next time, ok?

20120401-011604.jpg

At 2 years, 7 months, 1 week and 2 days old: Son, fyi it's the first shot you wanted me to take of you. You said - Mummy, 拍我

20120401-011612.jpg

At 2 years, 7 months, 1 week and 3 days old: I-don't-want-bedtime look. Papy says you look very cheeky.

2 thoughts on “How long? 2 years 7 months, already?

  1. I think as they grow older you can use weeks and months less.. As a baby 2 weeks and 2 months makes a difference, but when they’re past 2, the days blur into weeks into months and the milestones aren’t as significant right? I remember before I had kids I used to think it’s annoying that I had to think what something random like “19 months” meant in “real” adult terms.. haha..

Leave a Reply

